Weekly Update: For the Week of May 19th-26th.

BA in English. Thanks.

Yes, it’s Thursday (the middle of the week), but why not recap the week and the week to come?

Academics: On May 19th, I graduated from Georgetown College in Georgetown, KY (magna cum laude / Phi Kappa Phi). I’m not going to lie, I’m proud of myself. I’ll miss Georgetown, and it will always have a fond place in my heart. After all, I met people there who have changed me and people I’ll never forget. For this, I’m thankful.

Fulbright South Korea: I leave July 3rd out of Lexington, KY. I’ll eventually fly out to LAX, where I’ll meet other English Teaching Assistants, and fly into Incheon International Airport in Seoul. I’ll return July 13th, 2013.

On the bookshelf: I just finished Shirt of Flame: A Year with Saint Therese of Lisieux by Heather King (Paraclete Press). It was an excellent memoir and biography of both King and St. Therese. Shirt of Flame tackles the emptiness and worry many of us experience and allows it to be turned into a glorious thing for Christ. To read: Story of a Soul by St. Therese herself.

Religion: This Saturday, I have my first Company of Jesus retreat at the Anglican church I attend. The monastic life of a postulant has truly shown me how I need to make “space” for the Lord. It’s not easy, but discipline is always always worth it. On the other hand, I find my daily prayers to be rewarding and a source of comfort.

On television: The Golden Girls.

Six Weeks of Summer: Do all the summer things! Get ice cream, go to the drive-in, grill out, and of course, read all the time.

Leave a Reply

