Weekly Update for April 29th-May 5th, 2012

This is the week of April 29th-May 5th.

Academics: 17 days until graduation. 7 days until the last day of classes in my undergraduate career. At my freshman orientation four years ago, a professor told me that these years would fly by. I didn’t believe her, but I do now. Funny how that works.

Yesterday, I was awarded the Outstanding Student in Secondary Grades Education. I was excited to be selected for this honor.

Fulbright South Korea: Leaving July 4th, 2012, returning July 13th, 2013. I will be applying for my visa soon, and confirming my flight to and from Korea. Pray for me as I go trough the tedious process of applying for visas.

Religion: On Saturday, I was received as a postulant (not yet a sister) in the Company of Jesus. This is a third-order, ecumenical monastic community of Benedictine and Francisican monks and nuns. Before you focus in on the one word “nun,” it’s important to remember that the third order is for men and women that are single or married. Single individuals must practice chastity while not married, but they are free to marry if the opportunity arises. As a postulant (from the Latin word “to ask”), I will be getting a feel of the monastic life. This includes reading books on Benedictine spirituality (my selected charism) and praying the daily office, just to name a few.  I look forward to growing spiritually in Christ while participating in the Company.

On the bookshelf: Anything that I can download for free on Kindle.

On my ears: “Chicago” by Sufjan Stevens. And also my “Country Classics” station on Pandora.

Enjoy this sounds of “Chicago,” courtesy of YouTube:

Leave a Reply

