Weekly Update – April 9th, 2012

For the week of April 9th, 2012

On the bookshelf: Shanghai Girls by Lisa See, Christians and the Common Good by Charles Gutenson, and Ulysses by James Joyce.

The academy says: I high-passed my senior English orals on March 30th, and now I’m working to write my final two essays of my undergraduate career. I’ve been offered (and accepted) a Fulbright grant to teach in South Korea for the 2012-2013 academic year. I’m very excited and still a bit disoriented from the news. I believe I have 97 days until departure day: July 4th (oh the irony!).

I’m still deciding whether or not to go to graduate school immediately after Fulbright or to work a year, save up a few dimes, and then go back to school. Either way, I’m still going to graduate school come heck or high water as I’ve compiled a new list of schools I’d like to apply to. Sarah needs a Ph.D.

Religion: I experienced a wonderful Holy Week last week as I attended a Tenebrae, Easter Vigil (my favorite!), and an Easter Mass at St. Aidan’s Anglican. At the risk of sounding cliched and evoking fuzzy feelings, the Lord showed up last week. The services were immersed in scripture, which is something that doesn’t often happen in other churches. It’s nice to have a service where the ministers don’t joke for a good part of the sermon about their weeks. Or UK basketball.

On a more humorous note, I earnestly believe that Anglicans are the only denomination that beats the CoC in terms of standing up and sitting down.

Move it: Exercise two more days this week. My goal is three times a week, which shouldn’t be that difficult. No excuses. No, f’reals.

Good Eats: I recently discovered how much I like salad, so I’m going to aim to eat one salad per day with a meal.

Et cetera: I’ll probably write a paper letter or send a card to somebody this week. I like doing that.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

