Seventeen Forty-Four: A Life in Thirteen Tales. An Introduction.

My life is quite normal.

Thankfully, I’ve been spared the tumultuous childhood and other tragedies that mark some individuals’ lives. However, my life has been marked by quirk, pure unadulterated quirk. With that being said, over the 2011-2012 Christmas break, I read Haven Kimmel’s memoir A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Moreland, Indiana. I like life stories, and I especially like life stories that are a lot like mine: not too dramatic, not too traumatic, but just enough quirk to make me smile and think “this would make a good book.” If Kimmel (who is a professional writer) can write about growing up small in the small town of Moreland, Indiana (a place very similar to my hometown ), then I can attempt write about growing up small in a microscopic town of 202 people wedged in the hills of Central Kentucky. Each life has a story, and I want to tell mine.

So, why “Seventeen Forty-Four”? Sure, the Careys sailed over in the 1700s from Ireland (says family records), but 1744 is the number of the house I lived in for eighteen years before moving away to college. In fact, it’s the house my parents and brother still live in. Thus, Seventeen Forty-Four will serve as the root for my entries as I a journey through my life and the recording process. Seventeen Forty-Four may never make it past this blog. It may never be finished, I may not even make it to the thirteenth or third heading. It might not even be in chronological order. What Seventeen Forty-Four acts as is simply an exercise in writing and an exercise in looking back on a life of quirk and solidarity. No, it may not be frequent, and it may never be complete, but this will be my own way of sharing the excellent parts of life along with the not-so-excellent parts.

With all of this being said, I present  Seventeen Forty-Four: A Life in Thirteen Tales. All of these tales are simply about an everyday female child living in the middle of deserted sloping bluegrass hills who just happens to love the bookmobile, hates riding the bus, and struggles every Sunday to get out of bed to get to church on time. This is Seventeen Forty-Four, and this is the life it gave me.

Leave a Reply

