“So, what are you going to do?”

With seven months until my college graduation, many people have asked “So, what’s going to happen after May 19th?” That, my friends, is an answered question that has morphed its answers about thirteen times in twelve months. Also, because I believe that it’s good to share plans with friends, I offer you the most updated answer to “So, what are you going to do?” as of October 15th, 2011:

1. I am applying to graduate schools:

  • Baylor University (MA in English): Baylor offers a Master’s and Ph.D. degree in English that focuses on the unity present between Christian theology and literature. If accepted to Baylor, I will also have the opportunity to pursue a graduate minor in religion. Since I like mingling my Christian religion with literature, it seems like a perfect fit for my graduate school goals.
  • Liberty University (MA in English): Liberty offers a Master’s degree in English for those seeking to nurture their Christian worldview and their love of all things bookish. If accepted to Liberty, I’ll have the opportunity to study English language and literature from a Christian viewpoint. As a person seeking to do just that, Liberty also seems like a perfect fit for my graduate school goals.
  • Abilene Christian University (MA in English): You guessed it, ACU offers “Faith and Theory” classes, and that’s what I like. I’m so predictable.
2. I am applying for a Fulbright Grant to South Korea
  • The opportunity to apply to teach overseas comes only a few times (or if at all) in a lifetime. If selected from the pool of applicants, I would be more than thrilled to spend a year teaching English in South Korea.
3. I will teach English language arts.
  • I came to my college to be a teacher. At graduation, I will have all the requirements needed to teach middle and secondary grades students English language arts in the state of Kentucky. This is by no means a back-up plan (even though it’s #3 on my list), but why I came to college: to be a teacher, whether it is on the middle, secondary, or college level. Students need literature, and they also need teachers that can teach them to understand it.
So, here it is. I think it’s good to write what we want out of life, but it’s also important to prepare for Plan B. Though these plans are not written in sacred stone, they are the goals I am reaching for after I walk across the stage and receive my diploma in May. So I ask, If you are a college graduate or an adult, what advice would you give someone like me that is preparing to transition into the “real world”?
4 thoughts on ““So, what are you going to do?”

  1. Hi there Sarah,

    Yeahhhhhhh and high-five to you my dear. Wow, what an awesome accomplishment for you. Clap, clap, clap…. High-five again.

    I commend you for what you have done so far. Writing out your options is very key. But, I would ask you to take it even further. I often share with young adults as yourself I mentor to do a spiritual self-reflection exercise I think is very helpful. I advise to seek God in your HERE and THERE. Meaning, where are you right now HERE and where you desire to go THERE. In this you will reflect on you:
    Emotionally, Spiritually, Mentally, Financially, and Socially. In these areas, you are going deep to where you are and where you would like to see yourself. Based on what God reveals to you as you seek him, your THERE is used as a blueprint on your personal development and you will start from there on the journey. Then you will be clear and focused on what steps to take that are purposeful and intentional in this next season of your life.

    A scripture that I hold dearly as well as my mentees:
    Proverbs 3:5-6 (Message Bible)
    Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
    don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
    Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
    he’s the one who will keep you on track.

    God bless you and I will definitely intercede on your behalf. Stay focused and stay on purpose.

    Big hugz to you…:-)

Leave a Reply

