unpublished thursdays [october 6th, 2011]

administration steps

On the steps, the ones that looked like silver slabs

I sat, waiting for my picture to be taken.

I walked on these steps quite a few times,

but I never sat on them like this, looking

down the street, the artery that funneled students

out onto main street,

where the real world

supposedly begins.

But I sat, and of all my years

here, that two minute, momentary

experience of sitting on the

administration steps, with

its columns and bricks and silvery steps

was one of the most beautifully

usual moments of my four-year life.

Leave a Reply

