The teacher I’ll never be.

I’ve had bad teachers and I’ve had great teachers that have influenced my life. Though my career choices as a child swerved between being a news anchor and becoming a pharmacist, I always returned to English education. At the risk of sounding clichéd, the classroom with a stack of books is where I  begin. As a result of my clichéd mindset, I am preparing to student teach in a mere three weeks.

As a practicing teacher this semester, I aspire to do the following things:

  1. Pray daily for the students in my classes.
  2. Understand that no everybody thinks the classroom is a dandy place to be.
  3. Develop and practice patience.
  4. Plan lessons, but understand that they might not “pan out” in the classroom.
  5. Learn that distractions happen (see #4).
  6. Take advice and constructive criticism from my supervising teachers like a fellow grown up.
Sure, I’m certain that each day as a student teacher will be different. There will be good days, bad days, mediocre days, weird days, and flat-out awkward days. However, I’m praying that I can take each day as a unique gift and opportunity to do something big, small, and/or unknown for my students. Yes, I’ve put in a huge order for myself this semester, but with a little work and a little patience, I’ll avoid becoming the teacher I’ll never want to be.
-Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

