10 things I’ll miss about summer.

In a mere 11 days, I will be relocating back to my campus for my final year of undergraduate studies. I’ve never been one for long breaks, even my campus’ Christmas break gives me fits after two weeks. However, in what has been called “the last summer of freedom” by many (I assume that after college life goes downhill), I’ve found ten unique things about this summer that I’ll truly miss.

  1. Trips to the aquatic center and pretending that the only reason I’m going down the water slide is to appease my nagging brother.
  2. Realizing that I’ve never met a library that I didn’t like.
  3. Catching “The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air” at 10 a.m. It’s a fine work of television.
  4. The cows (and calves and boy cows). Harper, Julian, Daisy, Mudfoot, Coco, Peekaboo, Jackson, Holly, and the list goes on and on and on.
  5. Going to bed notoriously early or notoriously late.
  6. Complaining about summer.
  7. Reading books for kicks.
  8. Going to my campus’s library and savoring the sheer silence while I work on various projects.
  9. Long walks on my country road. Minimal traffic, an iPod, and good shoes make for an excellent walk.
  10. Endless marathons of The Golden Girls.
Of course, all good things must come to an end, including the summer. However, I’m always excited for a new academic year (and this always outweighs the thrill of summer). In the meantime though, I’ll kick back with a book and take in all the Fresh Prince and The Golden Girls that I can handle.
-Sarah
4 thoughts on “10 things I’ll miss about summer.

  1. Sarah, love the posts! Definitely would love to feature these on Ruby for Women if that’s OK 🙂 Saw you’ve been posting updates on the Ruby for Women community group “Girls Who Blog”! Keep up the awesome work!
    Blessings, Amanda, Asst. Editor, Ruby for Women

Leave a Reply

