31 things you had to know.

I was hungry for a blog post and many people and books have told me to “just write” when the urge arises. So, here we are, 31 things all about Sarah you just had to know.

  1.  I’ve won Biggest Pumpkin three times before the age of 10 at a local harvest festival. My dad did all the farming, but I got all the credit, a big trophy, a flashy ribbon, and a picture in the county paper.
  2. I’m an alumna of Alpha Gamma Delta International Women’s Fraternity.
  3. I’m an English major and a religion minor. The perfect combination of the two disciplines rivals that of steak and potatoes, peanut butter and jelly, Rod Serling and The Twilight Zone.
  4. Since middle school I have wanted to be an English professor. The revelation arrived when I was in an attic.
  5. I attend a Church of Christ, one of the denominational babies of the American Restoration Movement. We keep it first century AD, ya’ll.
  6. I was born on a Sunday and was packed to church the next Sunday. The habit hasn’t stopped, except I don’t have to be carried in a car seat.
  7. I lived in the same house for 18 years before going away to college.
  8. There are four cows on my family’s farm named Pearl, Harper,Kate, and Julian. Named after the Pearl poet, Harper Lee, Kate from Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew, and Julian of Norwich, respectively.
  9. I like to research. When I find what I’m looking for, I feel something rise up inside like that knot in your throat before tears come.
  10. I like to read. I read my first chapter book in third grade (primarily because the librarian said my class was now old enough for chapter books).
  11. The first book I fell in love with was Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea.
  12. I write fiction in my spare time.
  13. I have a younger brother. He’s cool like that.
  14. After graduation, I would like to attend graduate school and study Christian themes in literature.
  15. After graduation, I’ll have provisional certification to teach grades 5-12 English/language arts in Kentucky.
  16. I like going to the movies.
  17. I like lists.
  18. My favorite type of food is Mexican.
  19. I’m a flexitarian. I’m vegetarian most of the time, except when poultry is present. I have no reason for my dietary pursuits, I just do it.
  20. In the future, I would love to teach an English comp class where the students read nothing but Flannery O’Connor and developed their arguments from her short stories. Learn to write an essay and read good literature. Winning.
  21. I love The Twilight Zone. Not the full-color versions that the 80s spawned, but the 1960s, super-fake special effects, trip-you-out at night, black and white versions.
  22. I’ve been to all 50 states.
  23. I’ve been to Canada, Israel, Egypt, and France.
  24. Aquariums = sheer terror.
  25. I like spending time with older people.
  26. I’m not really a cat or dog person. Both have their redeeming qualities.
  27. I was on my high school’s academic team. My senior year, I placed fifth in the state in the timed essay writing competition.
  28. I like watching Bridezillas on WE. Don’t ask why, but it’s addictive.
  29. I’ve had a pacemaker since I was 11 years old.
  30. If I’m walking down a hallway one way and you’re walking the other way, and I look away, it’s because I’m an uneven balance of  shy and awkward.
  31. I have mediocre, almost sad banjo playing skills. Those who don’t know any better think I’m somewhat good.
7 thoughts on “31 things you had to know.

  1. Excellent read!!! And Bill seated me at Cracker Barrel today, but he didn’t know who I was….he never does!!!

  2. Pingback: 31 things, part two. « a time and a season

Leave a Reply

