A Few of My Favorite (Simple) Things #4: Bookstores, (AKA The History of My Literary Development)

On a rare occasion, I will treat myself to a nice sit-down lunch at a place where I don’t eat on normal basis. It’s usually one of those “special occasion” restaurants that I get twice a year. When I do go, I like to go alone and sometimes I take a book. As you have probably inferred, today was one of those days. I drove to Lexington, picked the “special occasion” place and had a nice meal with dessert (something I almost never order). After Cajun chicken and shrimp pasta, followed by a slice of vanilla bean cheesecake, I took myself over to a bookstore. It is in a bookstore, where I am completely lost in myself. As a result, bookstores are one of the my favorite (simple) things.

When I was born, the doctor handed my parents a manual. Inside the cover of the book titled How to Raise Your Female Nerd, the instructions said that I was to be raised as an English major and upon arriving home, I was to be read to. Of course, my mother ahead of the doctor (as always), started reading to me before I was even born. Regardless, I was raised around books and literacy, and as a result, grew to love books. In elementary and middle school, I devoured books. In high school, I was a literature machine that not only read, but also wrote fiction. So one can imagine that when the time for college came, my parents turned to the appropriate chapter in the manual and saw where I was supposed to be an English major.

As an English major, I love bookstores. I rarely buy anything in bookstores, but each time I step foot in the buildings of glory, I get a sense of happiness. Being able to pick up books, thumb through them, and tuck them away in my mind for future reference in one of the best things that I can experience. Today I caught myself frozen in the poetry section, starting at all the books, repeating over and over “I love [insert poet] and I love [insert poet] and I also love [insert poet]. I wish [insert prose writer] wrote poetry.” I do this quite a bit, and I always have to fight the urge to buy books. I have many from the library that need to be read, but the thrill of buying a books and knowing that you don’t have to ever let it go is rewarding. A trip to the bookstore is never a simple happening. It’s filled with emotion and the making of “to-read” lists. However, the complexity of the whole thing is why it’s a favorite simple thing.

-Sarah

2 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite (Simple) Things #4: Bookstores, (AKA The History of My Literary Development)

  1. Nice post. Bookstores and libraries are special, and so I loved this bit: “A trip to the bookstore is never a simple happening. It’s filled with emotion and the making of “to-read” lists.”

Leave a Reply

