So long, farewell.

Yesterday, my roommate and I were packing our books into our backpacks, eager to begin the new fall semester. Then, we were eager and giddy, ready for anything that would come our way. Of course, we were young then. Now we’re sixteen weeks older and know better. If we learned anything, it was that life, particularly academic life, is hard.

Last spring, I finished declared my major and finished my general education requirements. When it came to registering classes for this past semester, I loaded up with plenty of English classes and a few education classes for my state teacher’s certification. However, I quickly became overwhelmed. At a few times, I felt myself wanting to shut down, to go to bed and sleep straight until the new year. Even though it was tempting to simply trudge through the semester, I didn’t give up and I made it. Today, I walked out of my last final, thus ending one of the hardest semesters of my college career. Though it was difficult, I feel satisfied with my effort and accomplishments.

However, I’m not going to act like it’s not a relief to say “So long, farewell” to Fall 2010.  By saying goodbye to one semester, I am able to open up to the potential of a brand new term. New books, a few new professors, and new experiences. So as I say goodbye to this past semester, I look forward to the new semester which I believe will bring wonderful new experiences. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy the break.

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

