Sarah and Advent.

According to ye olde Wikipedia, Advent “is a season observed in many Western Christian churches, a time of expectant waiting and preparation for the celebration of the Nativity of Jesus Christ at Christmas” (Advent, 1).

I come from a Christian tradition that is about as liturgical as a tube sock. The only thing we do regularly is communion, and apart from the regular remembrance of Christ’s sacrifice, that is about it for ritual practice. However, it wasn’t until I came to college that I was introduced to new practices such as reciting written Christian prayers and the idea of the Christian calendar.

To my surprise, I found out from Facebook (the source of all useful facts) that this past Sunday marked the beginning of the Christian new year. So, I wished myself a happy new year, and decided what I would do with the days leading up to Christmas. If Advent is a series of days of preparation for the  celebration of Christ’s birth, then what am I doing for the Kingdom? How am I going to make my Advent meaningful and extend it into the rest of the year where I wait for the ultimate return of Christ?

Yes, I’m new to the observance of Advent and still somewhat new to the idea of the Christian calendar. However, I believe that when Christians make a deliberate effort to honor and remember Christ throughout their lives, then great things can happen. Therefore, I challenge myself to live a more meaningful life for Christ in this new year.

-Sarah

4 thoughts on “Sarah and Advent.

Leave a Reply

