Things I’d like to do.

I’ve seen a lot of things in my 20 years. I’ve been to four foreign countries and all 50 states, so I’m not lacking in travel experience. Additionally,  neither am I at want for sight-seeing. I’ve seen it all: pyramids, the Eiffel Tower, Niagara Falls, The Grand Canyon, Alaskan glaciers, Jerusalem lit up at night, and the Petrified Forest. I’ve floated in the Dead Sea and parasailed over the Pacific in Hawaii, so why would I want any more out of life? True, I’ve witnessed great events and been to places many can only think about going, but I have a so-called “List of Things I’d Like to Do.” This is not a “Bucket List,” because that makes me think that when I complete the list, I’ll die. Not cool.  Instead, I’ve compiled a list of things that I’d like to do in the near future and the not-so-near future (in no particular order). Some goals are reasonable, some not so reasonable, and a few that are quirky.

  1. Become certified to teach in the state of Kentucky.
  2. Get my CDL licence (aka – bus driving licence).
  3. Work as a Christian missionary.
  4. Work in a bookstore.
  5. Get a master’s degree and Rank 1.
  6. Cultivate a taste for coffee. It smells so good.
  7. Write a book/article.
  8. Get a PhD in English.
  9. Become an expert in American Lit.
  10. See “The Taming of the Shrew” performed on stage.
  11. Spontaneously take a plane somewhere for the weekend.
  12. Get married.
  13. Adopt.
  14. If not marriage, then live a meaningful life of singleness.
  15. Be a little more extroverted.
  16. Be more positive than not.
  17. Refine my banjo playing skills. My edge has rubbed off.
  18. Help someone else more often.

I like lists. Lists tell me where I’m going and where I’ve been. What kind of list will you make and where will you go with it? Think about it.

-Sarah

I just wanna drive a bus...

Leave a Reply

