“…nice to meet you, I’m your other half.”

“…and you dared to stare right back. You should have said, ‘It’s nice to meet you, I’m your other half.’“- Relient K, “The Best Thing” 

Classy.

 

My roommate and I look nothing like the ladies in the ridiculously small stock photograph above, but I think it gets the point across. For instance, we like to sit in public places and talk about important matters like books and homework. We don’t wear hats, but we should because some days, we have really bad hair. I pretty sure neither one of us can wear heels like the ladies in the picture because we would look like awkward, waddling giraffes. We are basically the same person, only she is really good with numbers. Me, not so much. We’ve both experienced wild semesters so far, but the ride has been fun. Actually, the past two years have been a wild ride, and I’m glad that Elizabeth has been there to see me through it. This paragraph’s for you, roommate.
 
On an even more sentimental note, I had even more “teacher experiences” this week. On Tuesday, a student at the high school asked why I wanted to be a teacher. I told her that I liked school and the classroom, and I just got a blank stare. Grown adults give me the blank stare, and I should be used to it by now. Moving forward, on Wednesday I tutored my first students for the new Foundations class here on campus. Honestly, much of my tutoring work involves telling students not to plagiarize their work, but Wednesday was different.
 
I had a student come in who needed serious help organizing her thoughts. After 40 minutes of discussion, drawing graphic organizers on the board, and proofreading, she came to my later session with clear thesis and stronger paragraphs. It made me feel good because I felt like I had helped somebody. It felt like I made a small change. I may not be the most outgoing of characters, but when it comes to helping other succeed in school, I jump on the opportunity.
 
To-d0:
  1. This weekend may not be as jammed packed as all the others. I might try to do something fun, like take a nap. I love naps.
  2. Begin a paper regarding marriage in the Medieval text, The Vision of Piers Plowman.   
  3. Restrain the urge to make a longer to-do list.

Have a happy Friday and an even better weekend. Remember, fall break is only mere days away. 

-Sarah 

2 thoughts on ““…nice to meet you, I’m your other half.”

    • CB misses the Abbott Family, and I find it sad that once one crosses the Ohio River, good country cookin’ isn’t available in the form of the Cracker B. However, if you ever find yourself in this neck of the woods and need a fix, I’ll be the cool hostess and let you pick your seat.

Leave a Reply

