The week in review.

It’s a lovely (cloudy) Monday morning and I have decided to simply review this past week and the rest of the present week.

Last week in a post entitled “Better cheating,” I discussed those very appreciative days where I eat what I want when I want. However, I decided to begin controlling how much I actually ate on these days in order to prevent small gains on the scale when my weigh-in day came. As part of my “to-do” list for the week, I stated that I wanted to be a “better cheater.” Luckily, I succeeded with my intentions and dropped 2.2 pounds last week, bringing my loss total to 33.6 lbs. I am quite excited and hope to hit the 35 lb mark this week. However, any loss is a good loss. As I am looking to the end of the year already, I would like to lost 50 lbs by December 31st. I think that is a good, reasonable goal to strive towards in the second half of the year.

As far as food and being healthier, I’ve been scanning the Internet and a recipe database at WeightWatchers.com for healthier dessert ideas. I really like dessert, especially cookies. In fact, I would probably eat cookies all day if I were allowed. Anyway, I found a great recipe for vegan chocolate cookies that uses coconut oil instead of butter. While I don’t practice a vegan diet, I like to experiment with new types of foods. I also found a vegan recipe for lemon poppy-seed pound cake and a modified fudge recipe. Yesterday, I also made what my mother and I call “1-point cupcakes” because they only have 1 Weight Watcher’s point value. It’s simply 1 cake mix and one diet soda, both of your choice. Mix it together, pour it into cupcake liners and bake for about 15 minutes. I used chocolate fudge cake mix and added Diet Coke which tasted similar to the chocolate Coke cake found at Cracker Barrel. If you have a few minutes and a spare cake mix, I highly suggest mixing up this easy treat. You’ll probably impress your friends too. I’m also looking for new, healthy recipes to make, so if you have any, please send them my way.

Also, the blog nation of atimeandaseason officially recognizes the 21st birthday of Elizabeth Carter. Congratulations, Ms. Carter. Remember that time we used to be cool and 19? Now we’re cool and in our 20s. Moving on.

This morning I also began ordering textbooks, a sign that the summer season is creeping to some sort of end. Though only four books totaled very close to $140, I overcame my shock and can’t wait to get them in the mail. I’m also recovering from a wild weekend Beagle-sitting for a local family here in town. Sam the Beagle wasn’t exhausting, but I did play a lot of Wii Fit which wore me out. Seriously. You try doing “Advanced Step” and then tackling strength training without feeling the burn. Maybe you can.

Last week was successful for me. I cheated carefully, I’ve planned ahead in the area of eating for a birthday party that I’m attending today, and I might finish another book today. I think it looks good. What about you?

This week to-do:

  • Increase water consumption. Decrease diet soda consumption.
  • Try to exercise every day this week.
  • Finish one book.
  • Do something good.

Have a great Monday!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

