Better cheating.

I don't have to eat them all to "cheat."

Today is Saturday. During the summer all days tend to run together, but I know that it’s Saturday because I go to my Weight Watchers meeting (up a bit this week, but total loss is still over 30lbs!) and I eat whatever I want. Thanks to Weight Watchers’ flexibility, I have plenty of room to “misbehave” on the weekends after my meeting. With what the program calls “flex” points, I have 35 points worth of damage that I can do without gaining weight. In addition to my daily allotment of points values, I can eat just about anything on Saturdays and not send myself on a guilt trip. 

As of July 2nd, I have been on the plan for 6 months, and I am still working on working. I’m still learning what exercises are the best for me and what restaurants to shy away from. It is no different with “cheating.” I am still learning to be a better, more efficient cheater when it comes to eating. In the first few months of my transformation, I tried to avoid eating my “flex” points by acting like they didn’t exist so I wouldn’t be tempted to use them. However, as the months progressed, I realized that if Weight Watchers gives these extra points to me, I might as well eat them. I may be watching my weight, but that doesn’t mean that I’m still not hungry. Thus, I began “cheating.” 

In the beginning of my cheating days, I would eat just about anything that was within arm’s reach. I had a whole week to undo the damage, so I would toss out the tracking skills for a mere 24 hours and eat. Cookies? Gone. Chocolate chips stored above the stove at home? Finished. Chicken tenders and hashbrown casserole? Done. Quite frankly, I sucked at cheating. It wasn’t until a few days ago when I was reading an online article provided by Weight Watchers that suggested that maybe those following the plan always track what they eat even on cheat days. After reading the article, I was surprised. I thought the purpose of food cheating was, of course, to cheat. The last thing I want to be on Saturdays is responsible with my food. I just want to eat what I can get my hands on that I can’t typically savor during the week. Regardless, after my tiny gain this past week, I am committing myself to becoming a better food cheater. Though I may cringe when I see how many points pancakes at Cracker Barrel packs, I am still holding myself accountable in order to improve my health. Therefore, in the name of responsible cheating and Saturdays, I have compiled a list to help me combat small gains within the next week: 

  • Avoid using my activity points. Just because I exercise and earn them doesn’t always mean that I have to eat them.
  • Work on overcoming “head hunger.” You know what I mean. That feeling that says that you’re hungry, when in reality, you’re not.
  • Add 10 minutes onto one day’s workout session. Instead of 30 minutes walking my loop around campus, I’ll do 40.
  • Research my food options for a birthday party coming up soon so I can be a smarter cheater.
  • Track my food choices today (since it is Saturday) and try to stay within my “flex” and daily points range.

Yes, I even have to work on being a better cheater. After all, I’m trying to undo years of bad food and health choices. Tonight, I will be going with my brother to the pizza place where I was a waitress in high school. I’m looking forward to it because I haven’t had pizza a little over a month and I’ll get to spend time with my sibling minus the parents. However, I will be a smarter cheater. He’s been talking up cheese breadsticks all I week, and like him, I’m quite excited. Face it, I’m hungry. What the good thing about this is though is that I’ll be able to be bad without really being bad at all. 

Happy Eating! 

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

