Welcome!

“Interesting ideas do not cause writing. Writing causes interesting ideas. Get started.”

-Prof. Dean Abbott

Sometimes, I over think things. Actually, I over think issues, situations, and basic decisions all the time. If my roommate asks if we’re going to Wal-Mart or Kroger, I have to weigh the pros and cons of the whole shopping trip. For example, “How much gas will it take?” or “My favorite granola bars are on sale at Wal-Mart, but if we go to Wal-Mart, the price of the granola plus the wear and tear on the car will amount to the same if I just purchased the bars at Kroger. However, Wal-Mart is having an awesome sale on yogurt…” You see, I’m quite complex and confusing, which is not always to my benefit. So, when I arrived at college almost two years ago, I considered blogging about my new adventures, but I went through the same strand of questions: “What if nobody reads it?” or “Who really wants to know that I read all the books in the local public library this past summer?” As an English major, I love to write and talk about my favorite things such as books, food, and faith, but I have never shared my written thoughts. Until now.

After casually admitting on Facebook that I was an “awful blogger” due to my lack of ideas, a professor (yes, I do Facebook my professors) gave me a very polite kick in the pants and told me to “get started.” Therefore, here I am and here you are. I am adventuring through life, and I might as well do what I like to do best: think and then write about it. So, this one’s for you Prof. Abbott, for informing me that all I have to really do is write and it will all come together (and no, I am not looking for brownie points).

In addition, the Old Testament book of Ecclesiastes states that there is a time and season for everything, including speaking and silence (3:1,7). Thus, I believe that now is the best time for me to begin speaking both in person and in blog form. I am in one of the best periods of my life as a young adult and I believe that by not sharing my experiences as an adherent to the Christian faith and a college student would be a loss of incredible reflection time.

All I can tell you now is to sit back, enjoy, and/or become confused about what I have to say regarding (but not limited to) the weather, dispatching, my hate for e-books, and my love for paper books. In the meantime, get started on writing your own story because for everything, as scriptures states, there is a time and a season.

-Sarah

4 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Hi, Sarah!
    Love your “Welcome!” post on your blog! I stumbled upon it because I, too, am considering starting a blog. I love to write and am a Christian who was thinking that just maybe someone might be interested in my thoughts regarding that journey. I just wanted to thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences because they may have just helped to shape my own!!

    • Hi Cindy! Thanks so much for stopping by! I also hope you do consider starting a blog; it has helped form what I believe as a Christian. In addition, I have also learned what it means to be a good articulator of what I believe. Let me know if you begin your blog journey!

      • Hi again, I did start a blog- although there’s not much on there- cr-itsallme.blogspot.com. Here’s to a couple of bloggers!!

Leave a Reply

